Back Again

After a lengthy hiatus, I’ve decided to blog again. A lot has happened since I last posted:

  • I got asked to be secretary of the Myponga-Sellicks Mudlarks Football Club where many of the kids and staff from Willunga High School play football (and netball with the affiliated netball club). It’s an interesting insight to how other sports are run.
  • My Willunga teams won a Silver in U16GH, a Gold in U17G1 and a Gold in OG2.
  • I got asked by Murph to come on board as a development coach with Austral senior women. Since Murph didn’t mind me not turning up to games I obliged. We’re not winning a lot of games.
  • Allan Desalvo stopped blogging. Murph started OzVolley.org
  • The SA Open Tournament stopped. Volleyball SA replaced it with an “Old Scholars Cup”, an AVSC reunion event that didn’t end up going ahead. Mt Lofty ran a Skins tournament.
  • I applied for the U17W state team. didn’t get it. I’m assisting Simon Phillips with U21 Women.
  • Tom West asked me to take a Norwood team to Albury Wodonga – we came 4th. They asked me to coach a junior girls team for them. It turned into 4 teams. I have a lot of good help though.
  • Willunga Volleyball has started again.

I’m blogging again because a recent experience has reignited something I’ve been passionate about for years – making volleyball an accessible sport to play for kids. By that I mean kids should be able to turn up to their nearest volleyball club or school and be part of an environment where they can train to get better and play a game every week. Maybe it’s because I went to a school that was too narrow-minded to have a volleyball team. Maybe it’s because we only have two clubs left in SA that a kid can play for if they don’t go to a “volleyball school”. In essence, I’d love it if volleyball could offer kids the same basic opportunities that other sports like Football, Netball, Basketball and Soccer can. Life is bleak. But it can be better.

One Response to “Back Again”

  1. SAVolleyball mum Says:

    Good to see you back. ( about time to 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

